UnReview: 2 Gingers Irish Whiskey

What’s an UnReview?  It’s an instance where I’ve been able to taste or sample a whiskey and render a general opinion but it wasn’t formal enough to call a review.

I had a glass of 2 Gingers Irish whiskey today while out on a business lunch.  I won’t write a formal review as I don’t believe that to be the ideal (or even useful) setting to do so.  We sat outside which makes it even more difficult.  For whatever reason, many whiskies smell the same to me when I’m outside.

Though I wasn’t able to really sit and savor it, I found 2 Gingers to be uninspired. It wasn’t bad, and was certainly smooth, but there was nothing about it that would cause me to want another glass.  It was light on the palate (as are most Irish whiskies), semi-creamy, and on the sweeter side.  There was some noticeable vanilla.  Overall, it was just ok.

I have read that it was intended for cocktails and that it is marketed to women, both of which would seem plausible given my experience with it.

As a fun part of this brief story, I went to the bar to view the whiskey selection before taking my seat.  I’d had everything else there (save the Talisker 10, but I wasn’t in the mood for Islay scotch) except for the 2 Gingers which I’d been wanting to at least sample.  When I asked for it, the waitress was fairly certain they didn’t have it.  I explained my earlier perusal but said, just in case I was wrong, Maker’s Mark would be fine.  Of course she returned with a small snifter of 2 Gingers and explained that it wasn’t even in the computer and what I saw on the shelf was only left over from St. Patrick’s Day.  The portion in my snifter was more than generous, I suspect as an attempt to get rid of as much of the whiskey as possible.  My benefit.

That’s the story.

UnReview rating:  I’ll drink it if you give it to me, but I’ll not be pursuing this of my own accord.

Leave a Reply

